ZigZag Nutrition
ZigZag Nutrition
My Story of Saving a 13-year Old Boy from Drowning in the River.
0:00
-50:06

My Story of Saving a 13-year Old Boy from Drowning in the River.

Plus, learn about how my 3-day fast went and hear the whole story about a deeply meaningful and spiritually moving experience in my life I will never forget during a 3-day fast.

Today’s podcast is by far the most important podcast I have ever released.

This recording has been sitting on my computer for over 40 days until I felt fully comfortable and ready to share.

It’s been a slow resolve for the mountain of emotions I felt that day.

I needed to take some time to get back to balance and homeostasis.

There were a lot of emotions I needed to calmly and slowly let go of.

Partially, sure, for the fact that I was fasting because I felt like God was nudging me all weekend to get me ready for some sort of energy shift to happen.

Which it did happen. That is for sure.


And I can’t help but imagining this as a quasi baptism of sorts. Spiritually speaking it is nothing of the kind of genuine baptism that comes with giving one’s life to Jesus Christ, and maybe I’m just over spiritualizing all of this.

But to me, it was tremendously meaningful and felt like God was poking at me all weekend as I was pleading with Him to show me something, to move me in some way, to rid me of the stagnant and negative energy and emotion I had been feeling for the past few weeks.

In his mysterious ways, He brought me into something that I needed - to save the 13-yr old boy who also needed me, to save him.

And at the end of the day, God saved us both.

It was such a challenging swim and stressful time to say the least.

I hope you listen in with great attention.

This one is coming off strong from the heart.

I recorded today’s episode just a few hours after the events unfolded on July 7th, 2024 while my mind was still loose and my emotions were still raw.

I hope and pray I never lose the experience and what it provided me in my life.

Right place, right time.

🌟 Lord willing, God made a way. 💫

Leave a comment


As part of today’s episode I also had plans to talk to you all about my 3-day social media fast and 24+ hour fast over this same weekend.

I’m sharing all about that in the beginning of today’s heartfelt episode about how I saved a 13-year old boy from drowning in the river.

My Private Facebook Community was the first to get a glimpse of what was to come from today’s story. If you want to jump in the group, we just added 100+ new members in the past few days. Join here.


The Local Newspaper (and other media outlets) reported on the story too.

You can read more about the events in local newspaper stories that written about what happened. Yes, that’s me, written in the fold as the “passerby” or the “bystander” depending on what story you read.

I’m thankful and grateful I as able to not just stand by, but that I was mentally, emotionally, physically, and spiritually fit enough to take action to go save this kid. I’ll be talking about that and much more in today’s episode.

Tune in, and tell me what you think about the whole ordeal. Are you going to make sure that you and your family know how to swim?! Surely, I hope so after hearing my story today.

…The 13-year-old juvenile shared that he was swimming alone in the water near the confluence of the Driftwood River and the Flatrock River when he began to struggle to swim. The juvenile then began to call out for help.

The adult male, age 29, who was on the park’s trail, heard the cry for help, [spotted] the juvenile and entered the water [to go after him].

The Columbus Fire Department would like to take this opportunity to caution community members about the dangers associated with swimming in rivers. Unlike a swimming pool, rivers may have strong currents that can create challenges for even a strong swimmer. Rivers may also contain hidden obstacles that may not be visible above the water. These obstacles may trap or snag a swimmer which could lead to drowning. If swimming in a river, never swim alone and consider a flotation device.

Capt. Mike Wilson, Columbus Fire Department spokesman said, “We salute the efforts of the passerby for his courageous act of helping this child.”

ZigZag Nutrition is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.


ZigZag Nutrition represents the pursuit we share as we strive to live this life as best as we can, learning and growing, flexing and adapting along the way to better align ourselves to the most nutritious life and lifestyle that meets our needs and nourishes our body, mind, and spirit - together.

Thank you for being here. Please consider sharing this story with a friend or use it as a catalyst for conversation. See you next time! 🤙

You Can Find Me on the socials for more engaging content, health hints, and sharing stories on all things holistic health and wellness:

Instagram | FacebookLinkedIn

Check out last episode below. Don’t forget, you can find ZigZag Nutrition on Spotify now too! Go give the show a follow and 5-star rating.

Select your country or region - Spotify

Refer a friend


Get more from Jonathan Isbill MS, RD, LD in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Discussion about this podcast

ZigZag Nutrition
ZigZag Nutrition
Connecting the dots in Holistic & Integrative Health to empower us to grow in a healthier direction with a more informed and collective culture of health, prevention, nutrition, psychiatry, sleep, functional medicine, fitness and so much more.